home | authors | books | about

Home -> Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll - Biography & Works

Children's literatue

Alice in Wonderland

The Hunting of the Snark

Through the Looking-Glass

Lewis CarrollLewis Carroll, the celebrated British mathematician and writer was born as Charles Lutwidge Dodgson on 27 January 1832. His most famous works include the classic children’s books “Alice's Adventures in Wonderland” (1865) and its sequel “Through the Looking Glass” (1875), published here in our literature collection.

Lewis Carroll was fascinated by mathematics since his early childhood. As a child he also showed keen interest in writing and parody.

Lewis Carroll received Bachelor of Arts, 1st Class Honours in Mathematics, 2nd Class Honours in Classics in 1854, and Master of Arts in 1857.

Carroll’s best-known work "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" was published in July 1865 and was reprinted later the same year, due to the poor quality of the first edition.
The sequel of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" called "Through the Looking-Glass and what Alice Found There" followed in December 1871. The "The Hunting of the Snark" was published in March 1876. The original manuscript of "Alice's Adventures Under Ground" was published in 1886.

Lewis Carroll died at Guildford on the 14th of January 1898.

© Art Branch Inc. | English Dictionary